Loudoun County Democrats Elect a New Chair and Vice-Chair

Contact: Lissa Savaglio
Chair Loudoun County Democratic Committee

Loudoun County Democrats Elect a New Chair and Vice-Chair

Leesburg, VA, July 12th, 2019 – At the Loudoun County Democratic Committee’s July membership meeting LCDC elected Chair Lissa Savaglio and Vice-Chair Rey Cheatham Banks. For the first time, LCDC will now have three women leading the Committee with Lissa and Rey joining Vice Chair Shelley Tamres and the other Officers. At a time when women are still fighting on local, state, and national levels for protections against domestic and sexual abuse, equal pay, and equal rights- LCDC’s women leaders are in touch with an energized base of the Democratic Party who are ready for major change in November.

“Democrats are poised to flip the General Assembly and Loudoun in November,” said Chair Savaglio, “Voters are frustrated and tired of backward thinking that doesn’t fund schools, doesn’t give equal protection to women, and doesn’t provide basic gun safety protections to families.”

“LCDC has a strong slate of nominated and endorsed candidates to compete across the board,” Vice-Chair Banks continued, “Our shared values and outreach into all communities across Loudoun County ensures we are in touch with voters and that extreme right values will not succeed.”

Vice-Chair Tamres stated, “I am thrilled to be joined by two other strong women leaders to lead this committee to win on November 5th.” David Bauer continues as Secretary and Robert Latham will continue as Treasurer of the Loudoun County Democratic Committee.